Eugenia Russell

Eugenia Russell / News / Fri 05 Nov 2021

Photochrom photography books on England now complete

Photochrom photography books on England now complete

The Photochrom photography books on England are now complete.

Photochrom photography is an early type of colour photography that brings to life scenes from an era that we usually visualise in black and white. The technique was mainly used for postcards and as a result the photographers concentrated on subjects of interest to the visitor and hopefully the recipient of their card; beautiful locations and the seaside are natural favourites, but also historic and civic landmarks, social scenes, parks and train stations.

The following volumes are available immediately:

South West England and the Scilly Isles, featuring the counties of Cornwall, Devon, Somerset, Wiltshire and Dorset.

Southern England and the Channel Islands, featuring the counties of Hampshire, Sussex, Kent, Berkshire, Oxford, Buckinghamshire and Essex, plus London.

Central England, featuring Gloucestershire, Herefordshire, Worcestershire, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire, Oxfordshire, Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Suffolk, Norfolk, Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire, Leicestershire and Derbyshire.

Northern England and the Isle of Man (historic names of counties): Isle of Man, Cheshire, Lancashire, Yorkshire, Durham, Northumberland, Cumberland, Westmorland.

Forthcoming in the series are Wales, Scotland and Ireland.

For more information visit

News Location

News Details