British composer Mark Whitefield is a music graduate of Dartington College of Arts where he obtained a BA with [hons] in music composition.

He is a composer of eclectic and wide-ranging interests, with a compositional language that can best be described as focusing on classical/art music but within a tonal context.

His activities as a composer have included music for a diverse range of instruments. Which encompass solos, duets, quartets, quintets, sextets, and music for orchestra.
A selection of his published music for wind ensemble are available from &

He is also a member of the Performing Rights Society and The Ivors Academy

View my website

My Location

Profile Details

My News

Latest release / Fri 09 Jul 2021

Echoes from the far shore is a collection of five pieces for alto saxophone and piano. The music explores memory and the passage of time in which the metaphor of the far shore is used to represent a remembrance of past m...

Ebb tide- a collection of three duets for clarinet and bassoon / <span itemprop="startDate" content="2018-09-19T00:00:00Z">Wed 19 Sep 2018</span>Ebb tide- a collection of three duets for clarinet and bassoon / Wed 19 Sep 2018

Ebbtide is a collection of three duets for clarinet and bassoon which explores the symbolism of an ever-changing coastline as a metaphor for half-forgotten memories that are revealed only to recede again into the fathoml...

New release / <span itemprop="startDate" content="2017-01-28T00:00:00Z">Sat 28 Jan 2017</span>New release / Sat 28 Jan 2017

The Hourglass is a piece cast in four movements which draws its inspiration from the myth and legend of the romantic ruined fortress of Tintagel on the Cornish coast. Musically speaking the four movements are mainly tona...

My Videos

The Seventh WaveThe Seventh Wave

The Seventh Wave is a collection of four connected pieces, which are inspired by the myth and symbolism of a tidal cycle. Musically speaking the individual pieces do not seek to represent the physical characteristics of ...